Scroll to content

Our Team

Our Executive Team

Laurie Kwissa

Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Laurie took up post as CEO of LDST in December 2019. Prior to this, she was appointed from September 2017 as the first Trust Education Director at the very start of the Liverpool Diocesan Schools Trust.


Prior to LDST,  Laurie had a number of roles in education, both as a Primary School Headteacher and then a cross-phase National Strategies Adviser focusing on assessment and progression across primary and secondary schools. As an accredited School Improvement Partner, she then worked with schools across Liverpool as a Senior School Improvement Officer.

Steve Boothroyd

Trust Corporate Services Director (TCSD)

Steve joined LDST in April 2018 and leads the Trust's Corporate Services Directorate covering all aspects of finance, operations and HR.


Steve is a Chartered Accountant through ICAEW and his background includes 12 years working in external and internal audit roles with public sector bodies including multi-academy trusts, colleges, universities, local government, housing associations and NHS healthcare organisations.


Steve also spent over ten years as a Trustee and school governor of a non-maintained special school for children with social, emotional and mental health needs.

Sally Aspinwall

Trust Education Director (TED)

Sally Aspinwall is the Trust Education Director within Liverpool Diocesan Schools Trust and is responsible for school improvement. She is a serving Headteacher and currently Executive Headteacher of two primary schools. The Beacon CE Primary, is currently judged to be Outstanding by Ofsted and is a national DfE Behaviour Hub and DfE Attendance Hub; the other primary is Bishop Martin CE Primary in Liverpool which has been successfully supported by the Beacon CE Primary and has been judged as Good by Ofsted.  

Jane Galbraith

Secondary Trust Education Officer (STEO)

Jane is an experienced secondary senior leader having most recently been the Headteacher of Lathom High School in Skelmersdale for 10 years. Jane is the Executive Headteacher of St Michael's Church of England High School and also leads on the development of the Trust's secondary school offering.



Our Education Team

Mark Ward

Trust Education Officer

Mark is the Headteacher of St Thomas' Church of England Primary School in Lydiate and also leads on delivering the established school improvement strategy and ensuring consistency across our Trust as Trust Education Officer. This includes:

  • Providing school improvement support and challenge for schools
  • Providing targeted curriculum support for schools where needed
  • Leading on Trust-wide curriculum development
  • Leading Trust Networks: Curriculum and DHT/AHT networks
  • Leading NPQs
  • Delivering CPD to middle and senior leaders

Rachael Heathcote

Trust Inclusion Lead

Rachael is an experienced inclusion manager, SENCO and intervention teacher, with a specialism in SEND provision within mainstream settings.

As Trust Inclusion Lead, Rachael is responsible for leading and delivering on our LDST Inclusion Strategy and providing targeted support for schools in relation to pupil premium and special educational needs.

Dr Carmel Manwaring

Trust Quality Assurance Lead (Secondary)

Carmel is an experienced leader in secondary schools driving quality improvements and improving pupil outcomes. As Trust Quality Assurance Lead, Carmel is responsible for providing quality assurance of curriculum, pedagogy and teaching and learning to ensure continuing improvement and a good quality of education in our schools.

Jill Broom

Trust Assessment Lead

Jill is the Headteacher at Bishop Martin Church of England Primary School in Woolton and also leads on the Trust's approach to assessment. This includes leading and co-ordinating our Trust-wide assessment strategy, developing the Trust-wide strategy for target setting and moderation, and collating and analysing Trust wide data.

Rob Fletcher

Trust Teacher Development Coordinator and Lead Mentor

Rob is an experienced primary school teacher and leads on the delivery of the Trust's NPQ and SCITT programmes across the region. Within this role, Rob co-ordinates CEFEL's suite of NPQs, supporting other multi-academy trusts across the region, and co-ordinating the delivery team of facilitators and coaches.

Ann Charters 

Trust Behaviour Lead 

Ann is the Headteacher of The Beacon Church of England Primary School in Everton and also leads on the Trust's approach to behaviour: providing bespoke support, training and advice aimed at improving behaviour culture across LDST schools. Ann also leads the Trust's Behaviour Hub which provides support to other schools outside the Trust under the DfE's Behaviour Hub programme.

Our Corporate Services Team

Alison Tennant

Trust Operations Lead and Data Protection Officer

Alison is the Trust's Data Protection Officer and leads on data management and data protection issues across the Trust, providing support to schools to improve data management practice, and deal with subject access requests, and freedom of information requests.

Alison also leads on operational matters such as Health and Safety and wider procurement.

Anna McGurk

Trust Finance and Business Lead

Anna is an experienced school business management leader having worked as a school business manager in many schools. Anna leads on the Trust's finance and business support to schools, providing mentoring, training and hands-on practical support to schools as needed.

Nicola Kettley

Trust Human Resources Lead

Nicki is an experienced HR leader and a Chartered member of the CIPD with significant experience of working across public sector organisations. Nicki leads on the development and implementation of the Trust's HR and people strategy, providing support to schools with complex HR matters as needed.

Rebecca Thomson

Trust Business Manager

Becky is a Trust Business Manager, providing school business manager support across several schools within the Trust.

Rebecca Lyons

Trust Business Manager

Rebecca is a Trust Business Manager, providing school business manager support across The Beacon Church of England Primary School, and Bishop Martin Church of England Primary School.

Suzanne Robinson

Trust Business Manager

Suzie is a Trust Business Manager, providing school business manager support at St Michael's Church of England High School.

Samantha Lowe

Trust Business Manager

Samantha is a Trust Business Manager, providing school business manager support at St James' Church of England Primary School and St Paul's Church of England Primary School.


Our Administrative Team

Hollie Stott

Trust Executive Administrator and Governance Lead

Hollie has worked with and for the Trust since its inception in 2017. Hollie leads on Trust governance coordinating with local governing body clerks across the Trust to ensure consistency in governance arrangements and regulatory compliance. Hollie, also leads the administrative function for the central Trust, supported by Beccie.

Beccie Bromley

Trust Administrative Assistant

Beccie is an experienced administrator having worked in several public sector bodies including the NHS. Beccie provides administrative support to the central team, including organising Trust-wide events and training sessions.

Liverpool Diocesan Schools Trust logo

Contact Us

St James House, 20 St James Road, Liverpool, L1 7BY

Telephone: 0151 705 2175